Purpose:


To provide the ability to UNDO visible changes to the process flow diagrams that were made and no longer desired and to REDO visible changes that were undone that should not have been.


Undo provides the ability to undo a change (or sequence of changes) that you made on an activity or sub-process diagram.  It will allow any change that is visible on the diagram itself to be undone.  This includes:

  • Adding an object
  • moving an object, including the alignment options
  • changing the fill color and gradient of an object 
  • changing the style, thickness or color of the outline of an object or a connector
  • changing the font style and attributes of text on the diagram, including labels and names
  • deleting an object

Undo can be used to undo your changes in the reverse of the order that they were made.  You can use Undo to back out changes past the last diagram save as long as you have not left the diagram.  Switching to another activity diagram or leaving the Drag & Drop page clears the list of changes made and stops the  Undo functionality until you make new changes in an activity. 


Redo provides the ability to re-apply a change (or sequence of changes) that were undone using Undo.  This includes:

  • Adding an object
  • moving an object, including the alignment options
  • changing the fill color and gradient of an object 
  • changing the style, thickness or color of the outline of an object or a connector
  • changing the font style and attributes of text on the diagram, including labels and names
  • deleting an object

You can use Redo to re-apply your changes in reverse of the order that they were undone.  You can use Redo to re-apply undone changes past the last diagram save as long as you have not left the diagram.  Switching to another activity diagram or leaving the Drag & Drop page clears the list of changes undone and stops the Redo functionality until you undo some changes again in the activity.make new changes in an activity. 


Note: Undoing the Delete of a Task or a Sub-process has limitations.  

  • When a Task is to be deleted that has information in the Task Details field(s) there is a warning message provided that you must acknowledge (click OK) to continue with the delete. This information is not recoverable using UNDO/REDO. If there is no information in any of the Task Details fields the warning is not displayed as it is not needed.
    When the Task that was deleted is re-added to the activity diagram (using Undo or Redo) the task details (Roles, Inputs, Outputs, Data Specs, Tool Specs, Procedures, and Notes) are not included for the task.   
  • When a Sub-process task is to be deleted there is a warning message provided that you must acknowledge (type YES in into the prompt response and click OK) to continue with the delete.
    When a Sub-process task and the expanded sub-process tab is re-added to the activity diagram the sub-process task details (Roles, Inputs, Outputs, Data Specs, Tool Specs, Procedures, and Notes) and the content of the diagram associated with the expanded sub-process tab are not included.  This information is not recoverable using UNDO/REDO.  


Watch a short video of undo/redo in action